Nail biting finish leaves 2022 Colts 1 Premiership Shared between UQ and Easts

In dramatic fashion, the 2022 Queensland Premier Rugby Colts 1 premiership will be shared by the University of Queensland and the Easts Tigers after an incredible 22-22 draw.

The beginning of the game featured stop and start Rugby with no points scored in the first 20 minutes of play.

Injuries took a heavy toll early with, Uni open-side flanker Fergus Nasser and winger Joshua Masi leaving the field.

University dominated possession after a shaky start and were rewarded with the first points of the game through a try to hooker Jake Tierney.

A length of the field play showcased the attacking ability of scrumhalf Tom Manca, who kept the ball alive after his own line break, beating multiple defenders en route to a try in the corner.

Easts’ Jarrod Homan finally broke the Student’s immense defence through a pick and drive and Taj Annan converted the try making it 10-7.

UQ quickly bounced back, with flyhalf Tom Lynagh throwing an incredible cut out pass to Tony Fuimoaono who scored on the verge of halftime to push the lead to 15-7.

Class hands from the Easts backline saw the first points of the second-half, with Max Goldsborough scoring in the corner.

With the score at 15-12 Lynagh was once again too strong for the Tigers defence as he burrowed his way over next to the posts.

As possession finally started to swing in the Easts favour, Charlie Wigan showcased his rare skillset for a front-rower, intercepting a bullet pass and punting the ball downfield to halt the momentum.

It wasn’t too long before the Tigers phase play proved too much, as Sam Farrer darted from halfback to make it 22-17 with 10-minutes remaining in the game.

As the engrossed crowd watched on, width to width Rugby saw George Stoddart go over but the try was unconverted, leaving the score tied 22-22 after the full-time siren.

In rare circumstances, both teams were deservedly awarded the premiership in what was an exceptional game at Suncorp Stadium.

University of Queensland 22

Tries: Jake Tierney, Tom Manca, Tom Lynagh, Tony Fuimoaono

Conversions: Lynagh

Easts 22

Tries: Jarrod Homan, Max Goldsborough, Sam Farrar, George Stoddart

Conversions: Annan

RECAP: Australian Rugby Shield - Rolling Day 3 Coverage
RECAP: Australian Rugby Shield - Rolling Day 2 Coverage
Henry Hutchison, Frank Puletua, Hon Stirling Hinchliffe, David Hanham and Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea alongside Pacifica dancers at Ballymore. Photo: QRU Media/Tom Mitchell
Ballymore to host 2023 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship
RECAP: Australian Rugby Shield - Rolling Day 1 Coverage