All of the Round 2 StoreLocal Hospital Cup team news

Fri, Apr 12, 2024, 5:23 AM
by Queensland Rugby Media Unit

Fjian international Teti Tela will make his first start of the season at flyhalf for GPS for Saturday’s mammoth clash against Souths in Round 2 of the StoreLocal Hospital Cup.

The experience Tela, who can count on caps with the Fijian Drua and Queensland Reds at Super Rugby level, will bolster a Gallopers XV that dominated Round 1 in their win over Easts against a similarly rampant Magpies unit who started their season with a bonus point win.

For Souths, Connor Vest is set to make his first start after his offseason switch from University, partnering in a damaging backrow with Kohan Herbert and Sean Farrell.

Sef Fa’agase has been named in the Reserves for Sunnybank for their clash against Wests as the props four-week suspension concludes today, Friday April 12.

The Dragons have also shuffled the magnets with Eli Fakailoatonga to start at hooker and Oscar McCarthy named at scrumhalf.

Easts will be hoping for different fortunes on their home deck in Round 2, naming an unchanged matchday squad from their loss to GPS on the opening weekend.

After catching the eye of Souths coach Garrick Morgan last week, Norths will start Will McCulloch at fullback while Leo Langbridge has also been brought in to start at flanker.

A reshuffle of the front row for University sees James Proud and Jackson Clarke get the start for their showdown against Norths.

Wests have made similar changes with Baguio Johnson-Tiumalu and Jake Barry (the fastest prop in QPR) to start in the front row against Sunnybank.

Much of Brothers’ 2023 title winning lineup still remains intact with a forward pack boasting familiar names in Dam Fraser, Jaiden Christian, Will Wilson, Noah Nielsen and Brad Hemopo.

Watch all of the 2024 StoreLocal Hospital Cup action live on Stan Sport

Your StoreLocal Hospital Cup teams for Round Two of Queensland Premier Rugby:


Saturday 13 April, 3:05pm – Sunnybank Rugby Club

  1. JP Tominiko
  2. Eli Fakailoatonga
  3. Viliamu Apelu
  4. Zac Shepherd
  5. Dylan Rowe
  6. Ravuama Vuetanavanua
  7. Nathan Faatagi
  8. Pita Halaifonua
  9. Oscar McCarthy
  10. Liam McNamara
  11. Junior Laloifi
  12. Francis Pona
  13. Mona Ma’afu
  14. Kitione Taliga
  15. TBC
  1. Baguio Johnson-Tiumalu
  2. Charlie Wigan
  3. Jake Barry
  4. Max Johnson
  5. Sau Vaihu
  6. Connor Anderson
  7. Bradley Kelegai
  8. Victor Olaaiga
  9. Louis Werchon
  10. Moses Sorovi
  11. Charlie Tupu
  12. Fletcher Spicer
  13. Joey Lala
  14. Jackson Barling
  15. Tomas Hanham-Carter

Saturday 13 April, 3:05pm – Easts Rugby Union Club

  1. Tane Pardoe
  2. Sam Finocchiaro
  3. Tom Fowler
  4. Xavier Boyle
  5. Fred Fewtrell
  6. George Stoddart
  7. Henry Wilson
  8. James Livingstone
  9. Eli Pilz
  10. Meli Dreu
  11. Dougal Gray
  12. Matt Smit
  13. Jordan Carriera
  14. Pio Nakubuwai
  15. Henry Holt
  1. Harrison Lloyd
  2. Dom Fraser
  3. Jaiden Christian
  4. Brad Kapa
  5. Will Wilson
  6. Nick Cross
  7. Noah Nielsen
  8. Brad Hemopo
  9. Isaac Tarabay
  10. Paddy James
  11. Kamilo Guido
  12. Dre Pakeho
  13. Grason Makara
  14. Billy Bulley
  15. Finn Prass

Saturday 13 April, 3:35pm AEST –Souths Rugby Club

  1. George Francis
  2. Callum Lauder
  3. Phransis Sula-Siaosi
  4. Jake Kurbatoff
  5. Sam Von Blanckensee
  6. Connor Vest
  7. Kohan Herbert
  8. Sean Farrell
  9. Finnegan Hearn
  10. Taj Annan
  11. Saiasi Qiokata
  12. Vilikesa Raboiliku
  13. Alofa Alofa
  14. Tye James
  15. Lachlan Stewart
  1. Malakai Taulani
  2. Tevita Kaituu
  3. Jake Simeon
  4. Oliver Bartlett
  5. Henry Radel
  6. Daniel Byrne
  7. Nicholas Baker
  8. Ben Byrne
  9. Jakob Morrison
  10. Teti Tela
  11. Shaun Anderson
  12. Nakoa Marcroft
  13. Campbell Moller
  14. Mitchell Treleaven
  15. Floyd Aubrey

Saturday 13 April, 3:05pm – University of Queensland Rugby Football Club

  1. James Proud
  2. Jake Tierney
  3. Jackson Clarke
  4. Luke Callan
  5. Jack Brady
  6. Adam Korcyzk
  7. Conor Mitchell
  8. Joe Brial
  9. Manu Paea
  10. Brad Twidale
  11. Kye Oates
  12. Tom Molloy
  13. Ethan McFarland
  14. Lachlan Sperling
  15. Niven Longopoa
  1. Oliver Harris
  2. Joshua Mongard
  3. Matt Talaese
  4. Taelyn Nukunuku
  5. Yvahn Allsworth
  6. Takehiro Kimura
  7. Leo Langbridge
  8. Matt Kaisara
  9. Connor O’Regan
  10. Jack Hussey
  11. Jackson Connelly
  12. Jack Peoples
  13. Alex Flanagan Smith
  14. Jordan Luke
  15. Will McCulloch

Round 8 StoreLocal Hospital Cup Teams
Queensland Reds duo Zane Nonggorr and George Blake have re-signed through 2026
Zane Nonggorr and George Blake re-sign with the Queensland Reds
Third layer to Reds-Tonga double-header as Wallabies hopeful eyes July 26 comeback
Queensland Rugby Union launches 13th annual Indigenous Round