Squads named for Queensland Women’s XV Select Match

· Super W
by Reds Media Unit

Following the culmination of the Queensland Premier Rugby Grand Final series, Queensland Maroon and Grey squads have been confirmed ahead of this Saturday’s Queensland Women’s XV select match. 

Across the two teams, 16 capped St.George Queensland Reds Super W players and nine Wallaroos will feature, alongside some of the top performers from the 2020 Queensland Premier Women’s competition. 

Queensland Rugby Union’s High Performance Manager – Sevens and Elite Women Reg Tayler said: “We’ve put together two strong squads for this weekend’s match, with the best of the Queensland Premier Rugby competition as well as some regional talent. 

“This is a great chance for the girls to put their hand up for selection ahead of the 2021 Super W program, but there will be more opportunities for players across various competitions to impress before next year’s tournament. 

“This match will see some of the top performers from Premier Rugby rewarded for their efforts this season and provide the chance for some girls to play alongside Queensland and Wallaroos representative players for the first time. 

“We’re also looking forward to the curtain raiser where Queensland Suburban and the Sunshine Coast Stingrays will showcase their talent and we’ll be watching with great interest.” 

Queensland Maroon will boast the services of capped Wallaroos Averyl Mitchell, Kiri Lingman, Liz Patu and Sammie Treherne, while Queensland Grey will be bolstered by Hilisha Samoa, Christina Sekona, Nareta Marsters, Cobie-Jane Morgan and Sarah Riordan. 

The squads will also showcase some young and up-and-coming talent, including 16-year-old winger/centre Rialey Baty, a current Marsden State High School student who was a standout for Easts during the 2020 season. 

Two regional players have also been selected, with Cairns based Penrhyn Sharks Becka Masters set to line-up for Queensland Maroon, while Burdekin Cane Toads own Josie Coddington will feature for Queensland Grey. 

The two teams will be coached by some of Queensland Premier Rugby’s best, with Premier Grade coaches from Sunnybank Sione Fukofuka and Evan Willis coaching Queensland Grey, whilst Queensland Maroon will be coached by former Queensland Super W assistant coach and current Easts premiership Women’s coach Tyrell Barker. Barker will be assisted by University of Queensland head coach Kate Turner, while 2020 Reds Super W Head coach Moanna Virtue will be a technical advisor for both teams.

“We’ve been able to appoint some quality coaches to these two teams,” said Tayler. 

“Sione and Evan have both been involved in Queensland pathways programs previously, with Sione having coached Queensland Sevens teams and Evan having been involved in the 2020 Super W campaign. 

“Tyrell has coached Super W and Reds Academy sides and in his first foray into Women’s club Rugby this year with Easts, the Tigers finished the season undefeated. 

“Kate is former Queensland rep herself, who has been helping build the program out at UQ and this will be a great opportunity for her to work with some experienced coaches as well.” 

Saturday’s match will kick off at Ballymore at 12:00pm, with Queensland Subbies and the Sunshine Coast Stingrays playing in the curtain raiser match at 10:00am. Entry to Ballymore Stadium will be free, and for those who can’t attend the match will be streamed via the Rugby.com.au and Reds.Rugby websites. 

Curtain Raiser
10:00am – Queensland Subbies vs Sunshine Coast Stingrays
Queensland Women’s XV Select Match 
12:00pm – Queensland Maroon v Queensland Grey 

Queensland Maroon 

Bree-Anna Cheatham – Wests
Averyl Mitchell – University of Queensland 
Wynona Baice – Souths 
Jamie Cope – University of Queensland 
Taulaga Malaitai – Easts 
Carola Kreis – Bond University 
Kiri Lingman – Easts 
Lesa Kaleti-Mata’afa – Sunnybank 
Liz Patu – Wests
Rylie Douglas – University of Queensland 
Cheyenne Letalu – Easts 
Tyra Slade – GPS
Korbyn Broomhall – Norths 
Sarah Harris – GPS 
Gemma Schneaubelt – GPS 
Jessica Sami – Wests 
Miah O’Sullivan – Bond University 
Maraea Tupai – Wests 
Caity Costello – Bond University 
Sam Treherne - Easts
Asako Ono – Easts 
Isabella Coll – GPS 
Becka Masters – Penrhyn Sharks (Far North Queensland) 
Head Coach: Tyrell Barker – Easts 
Assistant Coach: Kate Turner – University of Queensland
Manager: Felicity Bennetts – Wests 
Physio: Lisa Cairns 

Queensland Grey 

Hilisha Samoa – GPS 
Laina Cooper-Finau – Easts
Christina Sekona – Sunnybank 
Aleena Greenhalgh – Bond University 
Annabelle Codey – Easts 
Nareta Marsters – Sunnybank 
Sophie Holyman – Bond University
April Ngatupuna – Easts 
Grace Qaranivalu – Bond University 
Vua Rasolea – GPS
Maletina Brown – Easts 
Rose Ebbage – Brothers 
Josie Coddington – Burdekin Cane Toads (Townsville) 

Cobie-Jane Morgan – Easts 
Loretta Lealiifano – Easts 
Renez Bates – GPS
Destiny Brill – Easts
Sarah Riordan – Wests 
Ivania Wong – Sunnybank 
Kobe Nona – Sunnybank 
Sera Koroi – Sunnybank 
Rialey Baty – Easts
Morgan Te Oka – Easts 

Head Coach: Sione Fukofuka - Sunnybank
Assistant Coach: Evan Willis – Sunnybank 
Manager: Glenn Barron – Norths
Physio: Chari Stewart