Log in
Under 13 Boys
  • 2021: Iona College
  • 2020: Cancelled Due to COVID19
  • 2019:  Padua College
  • 2018: Padua College
  • 2017: N/A
  • 2016: N/A
  • 2015: N/A
  • 2014: N/A
  • 2013: N/A
  • 2012: N/A
  • 2011: N/A
  • 2010: N/A
  • 2009: N/A
  • 2008: N/A
  • 2007: N/A
  • 2006: N/A
Under 15 Boys
  • 2021: Iona College
  • 2020: Cancelled Due to COVID19
  • 2019: Rockhampton Grammar School 
  • 2018: Rockhampton Grammar School 
  • 2017: Rockhampton Grammar School 
  • 2016: Rockhampton Grammar School 
  • 2015: Helensvale State High School
  • 2014: Sienna Catholic College
  • 2013: Sunshine Coast Grammar School
  • 2012: St Brendan’s Yeppoon
  • 2011: Marsden SHS
  • 2010: N/A
  • 2009: N/A
  • 2008: N/A
  • 2007: N/A
  • 2006: N/A
Under 18 Boys
  • 2021: Sunshine Coast Grammar School
  • 2020: Cancelled Due to COVID19
  • 2019: St. Laurence’s College
  • 2018: Iona College
  • 2017: Padua College
  • 2016: Marist College Emerald
  • 2015: Rockhampton Grammar School
  • 2014: Sunshine Coast Grammar School
  • 2013: Pacific Pines State High School
  • 2012: Rockhampton Grammar School
  • 2011: Wavell State High School
  • 2010: Wavell State High School
  • 2009: Rockhampton Grammar School
  • 2008: Mountain Creek SHS
  • 2007: Sunshine Coast Grammar
  • 2006: Trinity College
2021 Competition Results

2021 U13 Boys | 2021 U15 Boys | 2021 U18 Boys Div I | 2021 U18 Boys Div II

2021 Ballymore Cup Winners

2021 Tournament Program


The Ballymore Cup is an extension of the Metropolitan Cup that was established in 1999 as a knockout competition in Brisbane for secondary schools outside of the traditional nurseries of the game. From 1999 to 2002 the competition consisted of Metropolitan schools.  

In 2003 the Ballymore Cup expanded to include the Gold Coast, Darling Downs and Sunshine Coast regions. This growth has resulted in increased interest and an improved standard of competition.

The 2004 Ballymore Cup achieved the goal of providing a state-wide competition with participating schools experiencing integration between the traditional rugby union sporting districts. The program provided a competitive, enjoyable and safe playing environment with schools divided into two divisions depending on their playing strength.

The establishment of a 2004 state-wide competition was a ground breaking year with 91 schools from North Queensland, South Queensland and Metropolitan schools all vying for a place in the Ballymore Cup Finals at Ballymore.

In 2011 the Under 15 Division was introduced to enable schools to introduce students to Rugby at an earlier age.

2016 saw the Ballymore Cup take on a structural review. This resulted in the competition adapting to a carnival model, that was hosted at the home of Rugby in Queensland Ballymore. This has allowed all teams to play more games of rugby and provide each school with a memorable Rugby experience.

In 2018 the competition saw a change in the age grades to cater for more playing grades with the addition of an under 14s division, as well as changing the age grades to be under 16s and open boys formats. The event also saw the competition moved to club land with the successful Easts Tigers coming on board to host the event with Queensland Rugby.

2019 the tournament moves back to the home of Queensland Rugby Ballymore Stadium and also to the traditional tournament age grades of Under 13, Under 15 and Open boys. 20 teams participated in the 2019 event and a credible 12 teams competing in the open boys, which saw some extremely competitive matches with last year’s winners Iona College and Rockhampton Grammar (Winners of the inaugural Regional Rugby Championship in 2019) being the tournament favourite to take out the title. St. Laurence’s College blitzed the field to secure the 2019 Under18 boys title with impressive displays throughout the tournament.

COVID put pay to any hope of staging a tournament in 2020 as the pandemic too hold in March resulting an extended lockdown and numerous challenges for sport and business across the country, fortunately the Ballymore cup roared back to life in 2021 with the tournament following the All Schools 7 to the Albany Creek Rugby Union club at South Pine Sports Complex. 28 teams competed over the 2 and a half days with Iona notably cleaning up in both the Under 13 and Under 15 age groups but were unable to make a clean sweep with the Under 18 team narrowly missing out on a finals berth. The division 2 category was a high quality affair with Ignatius Park College narrowly defeated by Emmanuel College (Gold Coast). In the Division 1 segment tournament regulars Sunshine Coast Grammar School broke a 7 year drought to run out winners over a highly competitive Downlands College team in the final.

2022 will see a record 38 teams contest the Ballymore Cup which will once again see Albany Creek Rugby Club play host at South Pine Sports complex.