Round 9 StoreLocal Hospital Cup Teams

Fri, May 31, 2024, 7:34 AM
by Queensland Rugby Media Unit

Australian rugby stalwart James O’Connor will play just his third club game in the past two years as he returns for Brothers for their mammoth clash against GPS at Yoku Road in Round 9 of the StoreLocal Hospital Cup.

O’Connor hasn’t pulled on the butcher’s stripes since Round 18 last year - a 13-point win over Easts – when he scored a try and played a sizeable hand in setting up one of Lawson Creighton’s 30-point haul that afternoon. That was his only Hospital Cup appearance in 2023 – but featured in a stacked backline also featuring Tim Ryan, Josh Flook, Creighton and Super Rugby centurion Hamish Stewart.

This weekend, he’ll once again feature alongside Isaac Tarabay but also a young corp who have all showed their worth so far in 2024 – Will Cartwright, Seb Hanna, Ben Della Cort and Fin Prass.

Brothers have ushered in a host of big named for the contest in the forward pack with Jaiden Christian, Dom Fraser and Brad Kapa all returning to the starting XV while Harry Lloyd also returns after a short stint in the New South Wales Waratahs’ front row.

For the contest, GPS have also welcomed back a hoast of named with skipper Ollie Bartlett returning after a sizeable layoff, while John Downes – serviceable at tighthead earlier in the season – also returns while Floyd Aubrey resumes his place at fullback.

Elsewhere, University have handed a start for Chace Oates at flyhalf alongside Liam Prendergast for their game against Bond University on the Gold Coast.

Bond University welcomes back Jake Upfield – named at his usual place at number eight – as well as Adam Gauder on the wing and Dan Boardman is among the reserves.

George Francis returns to the XV for Souths while Wests will be buoyed by the two-try effort from hooker Gruffydd John-Morris in his run-on debut last week.

Norths skipper Jordan Luke returns to the wing for their clash against Easts, with Tigers’ lock Xavier Boyle named in the second row to partner the in-form Fred Fewtrell.

Watch all of the 2024 StoreLocal Hospital Cup action live on Stan Sport

Your StoreLocal Hospital Cup teams for Round Nine of Queensland Premier Rugby:


Saturday 1 June, 3:05pm – GPS Rugby Club

  1. Malakai Taulani
  2. Tevita Kaituu
  3. John Downes
  4. Ollie Bartlett
  5. Dan Byrne
  6. Nic Baker
  7. Matt Gicquel
  8. Ben Byrne
  9. Jakob Morrison
  10. Bas Ward
  11. Tiko Twist
  12. Campbell Mollor
  13. Shaun Anderson
  14. Mitch Treleavan
  15. Floyd Aubrey
  1. Harry Lloyd
  2. Dom Fraser
  3. Jaiden Christian
  4. Brad Kapa
  5. Hamish Muller
  6. Michael Wood
  7. Noah Nielsen
  8. Brad Hemopo
  9. Isaac Tarabay
  10. James O’Connor
  11. Seb Hanna
  12. Dre Pakeho
  13. Benn Dalle Cort
  14. Will Cartwright
  15. Finn Pras

Saturday 1 June, 3:05pm – Bond University Rugby Club

Bond University
  1. Levi Samuela
  2. Jack Winchester
  3. Harry Bell
  4. Charles McCauley
  5. Dylan Loader
  6. Zebediah Misios
  7. Joel Brown
  8. Jake Upfield
  9. Jordan Lenac
  10. Fred Dorrough
  11. Adam Gauder
  12. Tyler Campbell
  13. Tim Fatialofa
  14. Hamish Roberts
  15. Rhian Stowers
  1. Alex Davies
  2. Jake Tierney
  3. Jethro Felemi
  4. Jacob Blyton
  5. Jack Brady
  6. Adam Korczyk
  7. William Rua
  8. Okaw Obonno
  9. Liam Prendergast
  10. Chace Oates
  11. Niven Longopoa
  12. Tom Molloy
  13. James Simpson-Te Pairi
  14. BJ Oates
  15. Kye Oates

Saturday 1 June, 3:05pm – Norths Rugby Club

  1. Ollie Harris
  2. Josh Mongard
  3. Eli Junior Latu
  4. Harrison Goggin
  5. Chris Minimbi
  6. Takehiro Kimura
  7. Conor Chittenden
  8. Leo Langbridge
  9. Cody Mitchell
  10. Harry Langbridge
  11. Oscar Donoghue
  12. Tevita Toloi
  13. Jack Peoples
  14. Jordan Luke
  15. Alex Flanagan Smith
  1. Tom Fowler
  2. Sam Finocchiaro
  3. Massimo De Lutiis
  4. Xavier Boyle
  5. Fred Fewtrell
  6. Tau Tuisamoa
  7. Henry Wilson
  8. Henry Olsen
  9. Eli Pilz
  10. Meli Dreu
  11. Dougal Gray
  12. Matt Smit
  13. Gus Godwin
  14. Shea Lalagavesi
  15. Jordan Carriera

Saturday 1 June, 3:05pm – Wests Rugby Club

  1. Jone Tiko
  2. Gruffydd John-Morris
  3. Bronson Tauakipulu
  4. Cailen Hope
  5. Max Johnson
  6. John Schwalger
  7. Bradley Kelegai
  8. Connor Anderson
  9. James Alexander
  10. Louis Werchon
  11. Josateki Lalagavesi
  12. Charlie Tuou
  13. Mosese Dawai
  14. Henry Speight
  15. Tomas Hanham-Carter
  1. George Francis
  2. Callum Lauder
  3. Phransis Sula-Siaosi
  4. Samual Von Blanckensee
  5. Jake Kurbatoff
  6. Sam Hanna
  7. Kohan Herbert
  8. Reece Meise
  9. Finn Hearn
  10. Harry McLaughlin-Phillips
  11. Xavier Rubens
  12. Vilikesa Raboiliku
  13. Alofa Alofa
  14. Tye James
  15. Lachlan Stewart