Queensland Maroon and Grey teams announced for Queensland Women’s XV select match

by Reds Media Unit

Ahead of this weekend’s Queensland Women’s XV select clash at Ballymore, Queensland Maroon and Queensland Grey line-ups have been confirmed, following the team’s training session at Ballymore last night. 

The match, which will kick off at 12:00pm AEST at Ballymore Stadium this Saturday, 7 November, will see 16 capped St.George Queensland Reds Super W players and nine Wallaroos feature, alongside some of the top performers from the 2020 Queensland Premier Women’s competition. 

Wallaroo Sam Treherne, who after standout performances at the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup and in the inaugural season of Super W in 2018 was contracted to the Australian Sevens program, is looking forward to running out alongside some of her former Queensland teammates once again as part of the Queensland Maroon XV. 

“I’m excited, it’s been awhile since I’ve played and I’ve missed XVs,” Treherne said. 

“With COVID hitting and the Olympics being pushed back, it’s been a crazy few months so I’m glad to be back and I’m looking forward to what is next. 

“The competition in club Rugby this year has been amazing, the final on the weekend was excellent. There is a lot of talent coming through, especially the young girls, and it’s really positive for Women’s Rugby here in Queensland.” 

For Queensland Grey head coach Sione Fukofuka, who has previously coached Queensland Women’s and Youth Girls Sevens before taking over as Sunnybank Premier Grade head coach this season, he is excited to help play a part in showcasing the talent within the Queensland Women’s program. 

“This weekend’s match is a great opportunity,” Fukofuka said. 

“The girls have had an abbreviated season like everyone in Premier Rugby, but we’ve seen some great games throughout the year and this is a chance for the players to show their skillset and compete at a higher level of competition. 

“I’ve had the opportunity to work with the Women’s and Youth Girls Sevens teams previously, and having now been in Premier Rugby for the last few years I’m excited to share some knowledge with the girls and help them showcase their talent.” 

The match on the weekend will also see some regional representation on show, with Penrhyn Sharks product Becka Masters lining up for Queensland Maroon and Josephine Coddington from Burdekin named in the Queensland Grey team. 

“When it comes to representing Queensland, it isn’t just the south-east corner, so it’s great to see the girls from North Queensland presented with an opportunity which I’m sure they will embrace with selectors watching,” said Fukofuka. 

Saturday’s match will kick off at Ballymore at 12:00pm, with Queensland Subbies and the Sunshine Coast Stingrays playing in the curtain raiser match at 10:00am. Entry to Ballymore Stadium will be free, and for those who can’t attend, the match will be streamed via the Rugby.com.au and Reds.Rugby websites. 

Curtain Raiser
10:00am – Queensland Subbies vs Sunshine Coast Stingrays

Queensland Women’s XV Select Match 
12:00pm – Queensland Red v Queensland Maroon 

Queensland XV Maroon

1. Bree-Anna Cheatham – Wests
2. Averyl Mitchell – University of Queensland 
3. Liz Patu - Wests
4. Tyra Slade - GPS
5. Taulaga Malaitai – Easts 
6. Carola Kreis – Bond University 
7. Kiri Lingman – Easts 
8. Lesa Kaleti-Mata’afa – Sunnybank 
9. Sarah Harris – GPS 
10. Gemma Schnaubelt – GPS 
11. Jessica Sami – Wests 
12. Miah O’Sullivan – Bond University 
13. Maraea Tupai – Wests 
14. Caitlyn Costello – Bond University 
15. Samantha Treherne – Easts

16. Wynona Baice - Souths
17. Rylie Douglas – University of Queensland 
18. Cheyenne Letalu – Easts 
19. Jaime Cope – University of Queensland
20. Korbyn Broomhall – Norths 
21. Asako Ono – Easts 
22. Isabella Coll – GPS 
23. Becka Marsters – Penrhyn Sharks 

Head Coach: Tyrell Barker – Easts 
Assistant Coach: Kate Turner – University of Queensland
Manager: Felicity Bennetts – Wests 
Physio: Lisa Cairns 

Queensland XV Grey 

1. Hilisha Samoa – GPS 
2. Laina Cooper-Finau – Easts
3. Christina Sekona – Sunnybank 
4. Aleena Greenhalgh – Bond University 
5. Annabelle Codey – Easts 
6. Nareta Marsters – Sunnybank 
7. Sophie Holyman – Bond University
8. April Ngatupuna – Easts 
9. Cobie-Jane Morgan – Easts 
10. Loretta Lealiifano – Easts 
11. Renez Bates – GPS
12. Destiny Brill – Easts
13. Sarah Riordan – Wests 
14. Ivania Wong – Sunnybank 
15. Kobe Nona – Sunnybank 

16. Grace Qaranivalu – Bond University 
17. Vuanimasei Rasolea – GPS
18. Maletina Brown – Easts 
19. Rosie Ebbage – Brothers 
20. Josephine Coddington – Burdekin Cane Toads 
21. Sera Koroi – Sunnybank 
22. Rialey Baty – Easts
23. Morgan Te Oka – Easts 

Head Coach: Sione Fukofuka - Sunnybank
Assistant Coach: Evan Willis – Sunnybank 
Manager: Glenn Barron – Norths
Physio: Chari Stewart