Aon Uni 7s returns

· Uni 7s
by Reds Media Unit

Easts Rugby Union club will host the first round of the revamped Aon Uni 7s series this weekend, with a number of Australian starts set to feature.

For the first time, the competition will be split into two pools, with the University of Queensland, Bond University, Griffith University, Melbourne University and the University of Adelaide in action at Tigerland on Saturday and Sunday. 

After two regional rounds at Easts and Surfers Paradise in Queensland, the top sides from each pool will play off to decide the national champion and overall series winner.  

The three Queensland teams will be well prepared for the series after contesting the Queensland University 7s series last year, following the cancellation of the Aon series. 

Bond University won all three of the Queensland tournaments, and again loom as one of the competition’s frontrunners, with Aussie Sevens star Charlotte Caslick running out for the side this weekend. 

Demi Hayes and Lily Dick will feature for Griffith, while youngster Georgia Hannaway has been named for UQ. 

Australian Sevens Performance Manager Scott Bowen praised the tournament and its importance in the Sevens pathway as the Australian side aims to defend their Olympic Gold Medal in Tokyo this year.

“The Aon Uni 7s Series is integral in continuing our professional pathway, and player development,” Bowen said.

“This year’s tournament is about preparing the women for the Olympic Games as well as continuing to fine tune our squad ahead of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and the Paris Olympics. 

“As the competition amongst the Universities continues to grow, it is inspiring to see the next generation putting their hands up and competing for a spot in the national squad.” 

This week’s tournament will be broadcast live and free on Rugby Xplorer, with play kicking off at 9:00am on Saturday and 8:20am on Sunday.

2021 Aon University Sevens Series Draw:

Regional Round One: 27-28 March 

Pool A: Easts Rugby Club, Brisbane 

Pool B: Woollahra Oval, Sydney 

Regional Round Two: 10-11 April 

Pool A: Surfers Paradise Rugby Club, Surfers Paradise

Pool B: No. 2 Sports Ground, Newcastle 

National Round One: 1-2 May

Forshaw Rugby Park, New South Wales

National Round Two: 15-16 May 

Bond University, Queensland


Team lists 

University of Queensland 

1. Isabella Nasser 
2. Natalie Wright
3. Giverny Robinson
4. Kaitlin Shave
5. Sidney Taylor
6. Chloe Cocks
7. Amber Kimmel
8. Renae Nona
9. Caitlin Urwin
10. Mackenzie Sadler
11. Greta Gowen
12. Lillian Kolb 
13. Amy Kibble

Bond University 

1. Caity Costello
2. Georgia Sim
3. Diaz Seumanutafa
4. Teagan Levi
5. Faythe Manera
6. Melanie Wilks
7. Stephanie Rutherford
8. Ana Drotini
9. Madi Schuck
10. Sophie Holyman 
11. Ellie Draper 
12. Phoebe McLoughlin 
13. Gracie Wright 

Griffith University 

1. Ivania Wong
2. Georgia Friedrichs
3. Kiri Lingman
4. Terri-Anne Egan
5. Chantay Ratu
6. Kahli Henwood 
7. Morgan Te Oka
8. Ivana Lolesio
9. Alana Elisaia 
10. Marama Thomas
11. Tiana Raftstrand-Smith
12. Sophie Quirk
13. Alana Grace