Queensland teams prepare to go head-to-head at Bris Vegas Sevens

· Uni 7s
by Reds Media Unit

Following the culmination of the Queensland University Sevens Super Series, Queensland Maroon and Queensland Grey sides have been named and will face off against each other this Sunday, December 6, at Wests Rugby Club as part of the Bris Vegas Sevens tournament. 

After three weekends of action, Bond University were crowned the winners in both Division 1 and Division 2 at the University Sevens, and as such, plenty of Gold Coast players feature across both Queensland sides. 

Queensland Rugby’s high-performance manager of sevens and elite womens Reg Tayler, who is also coaching the Queensland Maroon side, said: “This is a really exciting opportunity for our players after what has been a difficult year. 

“For months our Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) squad members have been training hard, but to be able to provide some matches for them at the back end of the year has been great. 

“We saw some great performances across the three weekends of the University series and this weekend provides a rare chance to see the best women’s sevens talent in Queensland compete against each other.” 

After this weekend’s matches, a Queensland side will be selected to compete against NSW at the Sevens State of Origin, which will see Brisbane host Sevens matches between Queensland and NSW across Women’s, Youth Girls and Youth Boys on Sunday, 31 January.

Before, the official State of Origin event in January, Queensland will travel to Sydney on the 19 December to take on NSW. 

“With the Tokyo Olympics moving to 2021, our players have the opportunity to put their hand up for selection and impress the Australian coaches over the next few months,” said Tayler. 

“Between the QAS and the University program here in Queensland we’ve got a lot of talented players within the state and I’m looking forward to seeing who seizes their chance and pushes for Australian selection.”  

Queensland Maroon and Queensland Grey will play four matches against each other, with the first match kicking off at 9:40am on Sunday. 


Game 1 – 9:40am
Game 2 – 11:40am 
Game 3 – 2:00pm 
Game 4 – 4:20pm 

Queensland Maroon 

1. Destiny Brill – Bond University 
2. Kahli Henwood – Griffith University 
3. Zoe Smart – University of Queensland 
4. Miah O’Sullivan – Bond University 
5. Mackenzie Sadler – University of Queensland 
6. Melanie Wilks – Bond University 
7. Stephanie Rutherford – Bond University 
8. Sidney Tayler – University of Queensland 
9. Ivana Lolesio – Griffith University 
10. Grace Baker – Bond University 
11. Taylor Fenton – Bond University 
12. Georgia Sim – Bond University 
13. Fathye Manera – Bond University 
14. Caitlin Costello – Bond Univesrsity 

Head Coach: Reg Tayler (QAS) 
Assistant Coaches: Matt Chapman (Griffith) & Marioulla Belessis (UQ) 

Queensland Grey 

1. Isabella Nasser – University of Queensland 
2. Ivania Wong – Griffith University 
3. Rachel Crothers – University of Queensland 
4. Chantay Ratu – Griffith University 
5. Jetaya Faifua – Bond University 
6. Tiana Raftstrand-Smith – Griffith University 
7. Caitlin Urwin – University of Queensland 
8. April Ngatupuna – Bond University 
9. Kaitlin Shave – University of Queensland 
10. Jaime Cope – University of Queensland 
11. Jada Ferguson – University of Queensland 
12. Piper Flynn – Griffith University 
13. Mackenzie Weal – University of Queensland 
14. Paige Nikora – University of Queensland 
15. Melita Hicks – University of Queensland 
16. Maddison Levi – Bond University 

Head Coach: Cassidy Holland (University of Queensland) 
Assistance Coach: Luke Zeremus (Sunshine Coast)